With the commitment to ensure that radiation oncology is recognised as a major contributor for cancer cure, the Stakeholders Council is responsible for shaping  relations with the ESTRO stakeholders, within and outside the Society.

The channels that the Council monitors and engages with are:

  • ESTRO members, and potential members

  • National Societies in the field of radiotherapy

  • National and international policy-makers

  • Industry

  • Other professional oncology societies

  • Patients and patients’ advocates.

To position radiation oncology appropriately within the multidisciplinary setting and in cancer policies, the Stakeholders Council:

President: Umberto Ricardi, Turin, Italy  

Past-President: Yolande Lievens (chair), Ghent, Belgium

President-Elect: Ben Slotman, Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Membership Officer: Laura Mullaney, Dublin, Ireland

Board representative: Peter Hoskin, Northwood, United Kingdom

Board representative: Nuria Jornet, Barcelona, Spain

Board representative: Marc Voijs, Maastricht, The Netherlands

Board representative: Dirk Verellen, Antwerp, Belgium


HERO co-chair: Cai Grau, Aarhus, Denmark

Patient Advisory Group liaison: Joanna Kazmierska, Poznan, Poland

National Societies' Committee representative: Barbara Jereczek, Milan, Italy

ROSQ Committee representative: Mary Coffey, Dublin, Ireland


The Stakeholders' Council is contactable through Chiara Gasparotto at ESTRO office.